Wellington Region

The Wellington region covers the entire lower part of the North Island and includes six cities and districts – Wellington City, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt, Porirua, Kapiti Coast, and the Wairarapa. The furthest point is about 1.5 hours drive north from Wellington City.

Wellington is only a 50 minute flight from Auckland and a 30 minute flight from Christchurch, and the airport is only 10 minutes drive from the central city. There are regular domestic flights to Wellington International Airport and three airlines fly directly from major Australian cities -­ Air New Zealand, Qantas and Virgin Australia.

To the west of Wellington City lie kilometres of beach, untouched native forests and the Kapiti Island wildlife sanctuary. To the north-east, vineyards and olive groves pepper the landscape of the Wairarapa.

Study in Wellington Map